Goodreads: A Source of Frustration and Trolling, or an Author’s BFF?

I’ll be the first to admit that Goodreads is low on my list of social media sites. I love the idea of Goodreads. As an author, I wish I found the site easier to navigate. And since it frustrates me, I don’t utilize it as often or as fully as I should. I always feel like an iMac girl in a PC world when I’m at Goodreads.

As a reader, my personal policy is to not publicly review any book I deem worthy of one or two stars. Call it my version of the Golden Rule. Fortunately, all the reviews for Spell Check have been great. I’m still waiting, nervously, for the first reviews of Spell Struck.

As this recent Huffington Post article by Penny C. Sansevieri demonstrates, authors should try to embrace Goodreads. But as the comments to the article warn, there are some solid reasons to avoid the site. 

How to Become a Goodreads Power User (and why you would want to)

Authors? Readers? What has been your experience with Goodreads?  

~Ariella Moon

Image

Leave a Reply

